How do I get an aged care (ACAT) assessment?

Before you can move into an aged care home you need to have an assessment to establish the level of care you need.  It’s called an ACAT everywhere, except Victoria where it’s called ACAS.

Step 3 - Get Assessed

Our 9-step guide makes this easy! The third step is to Get Assessed. Learn everything about ACAT assessment and government Aged Care Assessment Team – the ACAT Team.

Handy Hint - Did you know that if you can click the CC at the bottom righthand side while the video is playing, captions will appear.  To get rid of them, click CC again.
View transcript of video here


What is involved in the ACAT/ACAS Assessment?

Before you can move into any Commonwealth-subsidised aged care home (nursing home), you need to have a comprehensive assessment.


How do you get an ACAT assessment?

There are two ways to get an ACAT/ACAS assessment.


What can I expect in the ACAT assessment?

What happens before and during the ACAT assessment.


What can I expect after the ACAT Assessment?

It helps to have a clear understanding of what will happen and what won't happen, at your ACAT assessment